The Girls' Friendly Society  (GFS), Sri Lanka

The Motto   -  "Bear one another's burdens" 

The Girls' Friendly Society is an Anglican women's ministry of girls and women around the world.  The Society was established In Sri Lanka in 1904 and since then, has been of service to women of all communities, races and religions.
The GFS Headquarters is situated at  :   58, Ananda Coomaraswamy Mawatha (Green Path), Colombo 3
The main social service project of the Society is the Hostel for working women, established in 1957, which provides basic facilities (a single room each) at a minimal charge for girls coming to Colombo for employment.
The GFS Hall, built in 1923 and completely refurbished in 2010 is let out for various functions and is the chief income generator to carry on with the Society's programmes.

GFS Sri Lanka - Central Executive Council  (2014 -  2016)

History of GFS, Sri Lanka

The beginning

The GFS was founded in London in 1875 and twenty nine later, Rt. Rev. Arthur Earnest Coppleston, the Anglican Bishop of Colombo at that time, established the Society in Sri Lanka (then Ceylon).  It was the first girls and women's organization within the Church of Ceylon.

The first National Office Bearers were - President : Mrs Eveline Copleston, Vice President : Lady Grenier, Secretary : Miss Grace Van Dort, Treasurer : Mrs Walker. The first meetings of the executive council were held in the Bishop's residence and at "Rippleworth", the residence of Sir James and Lady Peiris.
The first branch was opened at the Church of St. Michael and All Angels, Polwatte, Colombo 3 followed by branches in the Anglican churches in Milagiriya, Moratuwa, Mutwal, Puttlam and Nuwara Eliya. In 1915, the first Sinhalese branch was opened at St. mark's Church, talangama and in 1917, a second Sinhalese branch was opened at St. Muchael's Church, Polwatte.  By 1927, the number of branches increased with the addition of the Anglican churches in Dehiwela, Panadura, Kalutara, regent Street, negombo, Kurunegala, Laxapathiya, Kandy, Dematagoda, Badulla, Hulftsdorp, Jaffna, Borella and Nugegoda.

Jeanne Withanage
Vice Presidents 
Thillaka Waidyaratne, Sugirthamalar Jebamani
Hony. Secretary
Roshan Perera
Hony. Treasurer 
Nimalee Gajasinghe
Jeeva Hirdaramani, Marcia Seneviratne, Yvonne Samaraweera, Esther Samuel,
Rohini Ratnam, Shaniya Hulugalle, Christine Dias, Noeline Sadacharam

Home | About Us | Programs | Services | Contact Us
© 2011 - Girls’ Friendly Society - All Rights Reserved
Powered by Inotrend